top of page
Search

Our Strawberry Pipe




We love strawberries and last year we had a project idea to grow strawberries on an elevated structure to make them easier to pick and to help keep the snails and birds from feasting the fruit. We have a lot of strawberry 'runner plants' which my wife lovingly and diligently nurtured and saved from last year.

A few weeks ago, I was browsing gardening and ‘How to’ related videos on YouTube, I came across this video, the same week you won’t believe me. but I passed on the side of the road a length of waste pipe that must have fallen off a lorry, I flew home for the trailer!


This week, we put the pipe to work. The plan was to drill holes in the pipe, fill it with soil, fill the holes with strawberry plants and elevate the whole thing off the ground (away from the hungry snails). At a later stage we’ll probably cover the pipe with net to fend away the birds. But at the moment we are covering it all with a cloche to help keep the temperature up and encourage growth.


We measured the pipe and drilled four inch holes, one foot apart. I used my oscillating cutter to ‘drill’ the holes. We pretty much filled the pipe with soil and some chicken manure pellets. Then we planted in ten strawberry plants, one in each hole. We elevated the whole thing on two rock stilts, till I figure out a way of getting it a little higher away from even the most persistent snail.


Here is our little project video ...



23 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Kommentare


bottom of page